Bennington Museum, Bennington
An 1855 former Catholic church, acquired and renovated in 1928, is the earliest part of the Museum, which today houses the library, a gallery, and staff offices. In 1937 the Museum added two wings, forming a U-shaped building around an entrance court, and established its iconic front with four Greek Doric columns. The museum includes gallery space, collections storage, and a new wing for education and public events. The Museum building has 37 historic windows, all of which are single-pane, set into the native stone walls of the original structure. A grant from 1772 Foundation will help offset the cost of customized storm windows.
1772 Grant Funds Awarded: $10,000